Ms Eppele's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Why?

on November 28, 2010

Our school mission is to aim to provide the best possible learning environment for our children.  Why is it to simply aim, why do it? After reading this mission I have decided I need to re-introduce this to the staff.  For myself, I know how important the learning environment is for children.  I spend hours setting up the class, so the kids can come in and decided what works and what doesn’t.  It is a sense of community that creates the vibrant learning environment.

How do I bring this to the whole school? What can I do to help?  These are questions I have been asking myself for the past four years I have been at my school.  I simply feel deflated.  I now put all my energy towards my class and students.  Why? I want to put my energy towards something that evolves and changes for the good. Helps the students develop their skills.  I do not like feeling this way, but what more can I do? Any suggestions?

Why Schools?

School is a place to create minds that want more, want change, want to develop, want to try new things, want to create relationships, and a need to understand failure and how to overcome it.  To do all this we need a safe environment for the students to be able to explore their minds.

I have been fighting a very nasty cold for about four weeks, and my voice has come and gone many times.  My principal asked me if I was talking too much to the class, I laughed. I do not talk to the class, I talk with them.  My principal said, yes that is right you act more as a facilitator to the class.  And that is exactly what I do.  I know I was not and am not a student who can sit for longer than 15 minutes and listen to someone talk at me. I tune out after about five minutes.  So why on earth would I teach like that? 

Some teachers have asked me how I run my reader’s workshop and I have now decided to have teachers in my room to see how the students run it.  I want to show what students at any age are capable of doing on their own.  Year after year I watch the students develop into thoughtful learners.  I love this time of year when the class is buzzing with ideas.  When you first walk in, I am sure you may think they are all off task, but go and sit with a group and listen. It brings a smile to my face every time I hear…they are discussing and collaborating with each other!

Why do I do what I do?

It is that moment when a student takes responsibility for their learning.  When that light inside of them comes out and they are excited about what they can do and what they want to do. When they say I was thinking….  I wonder if…..  Maybe if I…. What if….Can I….What about…..Let’s try this….. and so on.  And this is what goes into our district’s mission; To ensure quality learning opportunities for all students of all ages.

Leave a Reply

