Ms Eppele's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Twitter and me.

on September 25, 2011

So I started using Twitter about a year ago, and too be honest I really did not like it bit more importantly I did NOT get it.  I had and still have many questions around it.

Why is it there? Why do people use it? Why do people like to tweet? Why do people read tweets? What is Twitter etiquette? How will Twitter help me in my practice? How can I teach it to kids when I am still so unsure about it?

I seem to get many followers, which I find funny considering I have only tweeted twice and in both cases I posed questions that just never got answered. As I read tweets this week, I came to a quick realization, I need to use Twitter to find my answers. I need to use networks (PLN) to research my questions and wonders. I decided to really focus on the #mathchat for a variety of reasons.  1. I love to teach math 2. I love watching students change their outlook on math 3. I like to help and support teachers to embrace the new teaching/learning of math.

Going through #mathchat I found a few things that really stuck out for me.  First was a tweet about a great online interactive math tool for students, http://www.mathsframe.co.uk/resources/category/Multiplication_and_Division.aspx

Then I came across a TED video by Conrad Wolfram and his ideas behind teaching kids real math. This is something that is dear to my heart.

Finally I found a great tweet, that says it all to me when teaching students math.Math is emotional and it is a good idea to remember that. I was that students who would become so frustrated with math I would break down and give up.It wasn’t until I had two amazing math teachers in high school who took the bad experiences and helped me see math in an entirely different way. To this day I keep them in mind whenever I start a math lesson.

mathheadincmathheadinc

Never underestimate the power of one bad experience to hinder students’ learning. That’s when math becomes an emotional issue. #mathchat
Okay, so I may be slowly converting to become a Twit or is it a Tweeter? For me I think I will stick with the one #mathchat and stick with my daily blogs.  Here are a couple of blogs I have read this week;

Teaching Students to Ask Their Own Questions

One small change can yield big results

By DAN ROTHSTEIN and LUZ SANTANA

http://www.hepg.org/hel/article/507

AND

http://www.edutopia.org/blog/20-tips-new-teachers-lisa-dabbs

Twenty Tidbits for New Teachers

By Lisa M. Dabbs, M.Ed.
And she tweets too! Maybe I should follow here as well.
Leave a Reply

